Lake Michigan 2023 – Day 29: Sleep Inn, Madison, WI

The Fighting Wisconsin Badger, outside the Camp Randall Stadium in Madison.
  • Friday, 9/1/2023
  • Madison, WI
  • Lodging: Sleep Inn
  • Miles: 0
  • Total  Miles: 1,025.8

Today was a much needed rest day. I am staying in the same hotel for 2 days in a row.

Originally, I thought I was going to ride, without luggage, into Madison, and ride around. But I decided that if this was going to be a day off, it should be a day off.

So I spent the morning working on my blog, stretching, talking on the phone, taking care of stuff. Then just before lunch time, I took an Uber into town.

At Jason’s recommendation, I had lunch at Mickie’s Dairy Bar. What a great spot!

Inside Mickie’s Dairy Bar in Madison.
My breakfast at Mickie’s – a veggie scrambler with cheese, and gravy on the side.

After breakfast, I walked around campus for a bunch of hours, a total of 6 miles. It was a beautiful, warm, sunny day. Although classes don’t begin until next week, most of the kids are back at school. It’s not Penn State, but it was a very nice campus. The ice cream was really good!

The University of Wisconsin football stadium, Camp Randall, named after the Civil War-era army camp that preceded the University at this location.
The crew boathouse. The campus is right on the shore of Lake Mendota, so no early morning long drives to rowing practice, as at some schools.

Tomorrow I head towards Chicago, for the final week of my tour. (I expect to be back at my car one week from today.) I have a reservation for tomorrow night in the town of Whitewater, WI, about 45 miles away. If I am able to stick to my schedule, I will be in Chicago on Tuesday evening. That is my goal.

About Dan Hurwitz

A software guy taking who loves big bike rides.
This entry was posted in Lake Michigan 2023 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment