Day 73 – Rensselaer, Indiana

Ftiday, 7/19/2019
Miles: 27.7
Average speed: 12.2 mph
Vertical gain: 245 ft.
Current Elevation: 659 ft.

Today was a good day – short, hot, pleasant, flat. And, despite the absence of any “Welcome to Indiana” sign on the very rural county road, I left Illinois and entered the state of Indiana.

I loved Illinois, and so far, I am loving Indiana. It is flat, with mostly favorable winds.

I thought I would enter the Eastern Time zone today. The clock in my hotel room thinks it’s Eastern time, as did the clock at the restaurant at lunch. However, my cell phone thinks it’s still Central Time. The hotel clerk assures me we are in Central time, but the line is only about 2 minutes away, and it is not straight. So depending on which cell tower your phone connects to, will dictate which time zone it thinks it’s in. Tomorrow, for sure, I will be back in the Eastern Time zone. That’s good, because then my bike computer will finally be telling me the correct time.

Tomorrow will be a big day, 75 miles to the town of Peru. Once again, I hope to get an early start (he writes as he tries to restrain the chuckle). It’s going to be another hot one.

About Dan Hurwitz

A software guy taking who loves big bike rides.
This entry was posted in Riding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment